Black Diamond Historical Society & Museum
The Society opened the museum on June 6, 1982 after having restored the original railroad depot for that purpose. Our mission is the discovery, preservation and dissemination of the history of Black Diamond and enrons, as it related to King County and the State of Washington.
It was 1880 when Victor Tull of the Black Diamond Mining Company was first sent to Black Diamond from the SanFrancisco area to locate coal. Indeed he found it in abundance and quality. They returned in 1882 witih Superintendent Morgan Morgans. By 1884 the first train arrived here and the population neared 3500 speaking 30 languages.
You can read more by clicking About Us at the top of the page.
The railroad depot has been landmarked by the State of Washington, King County and the City of Black Diamond. We are grateful to the City, King County and 4Culture of King County for continuous support of our operations.
Come and explore our museum to see and experience our history.